Ever witnessed a train wreck? I mean, a legit one. Picture this: it’s like slow motion, one car goes off the rails, and the rest just follow, twisting and tossing tons of steel along the track. You’re stuck, helpless, all you can do is watch this unfolding disaster. It might seem like it’s happening in slow-mo, but there’s absolutely nothing you can do. Your only role? Be a spectator.

Photo by Johannes Plenio on Pexels.com

Ever notice how “train wreck” is this phrase we toss around when chatting about people’s behavior or life in general? We use it a lot, especially when it comes to celebrities, like when their lives hit the off-the-rails mode. We’re just spectators, watching it all unfold because, let’s face it, we don’t really know them personally. But what about our friends and family? Are we stuck being mere spectators, or is there something we can actually do to help?

When friends and family start going off the rails, we’re not just stuck as spectators – we actually have a choice. We can sit back and watch, or we can step in and try to prevent the train wreck. It’s different from the way we might react to celebrities; this isn’t a passive show for us. We’ve got skin in the game, a real stake in the outcome because we genuinely care about our loved ones. When they veer off course, it hits us deep, and we’re left with this profound sense of hurt and sadness.

It’s tough, you know? Watching it unfold is like witnessing a slow-motion train wreck, and it hits you deep. You can see the signs, their behavior hurtling towards an inevitable crash. You try to warn them, but it’s like they’ve got blinders on. Ever been there? You keep sounding the alarm, and they think you’re just being controlling. Maybe there’s a bit of truth to that, but deep down, you’ve seen this script play out so many times before. You just want to shield them from the impending pain. There’s nothing worse than seeing your loved ones hurting, and you’re stuck, unable to do a darn thing to ease that agony. It’s like being trapped in a personal kind of hell.

I reckon some folks just can’t bear to watch, so they metaphorically look the other way. What I mean is, they cut ties instead of helplessly witnessing and enduring the pain of seeing someone they care about suffer. It’s a hell of a choice to make. Do we tough it out, face the pain, and watch the train wreck? Or do we opt for the route with less heartache and cut them out of our lives? It’s their life, and they’ve got to live it. We can’t do it for them. Sounds easy to say, but living it is a whole other ball game. As a loved one, it feels more like we’re on that train as the wreck unfolds—helpless to stop it, yet feeling the impact nonetheless.

We love them, and our only real choice is to bear the burden, which is anything but the easy way out. Nobody thinks love will hurt, but here’s a prime example. It brings to mind a Bible passage about how love bears all things. That passage has taken on a whole new meaning for me. I get it now. “Love bears” means we endure the pain caused by our loved ones, who’ve brought it on themselves. We’re right there in the middle of the train wreck, helpless and tossed about like one of the train cars, as tons of steel pile up.

“Love bears all things [regardless of what comes], believes all things [looking for the best in each one], hopes all things [remaining steadfast during difficult times], endures all things [without weakening].” – 1 Corinthians 13:7 (Amplified Bible)

This isn’t just some random pondering for me; it’s my current reality. Throughout my life, I’ve seen my fair share of loved ones veering off course. I took those experiences to heart, learning lessons and doing my best to steer clear of those same pitfalls. But now, it’s a different story. I’m watching my own kids, and I can see the train wreck on the horizon. It’s tough—I’ve tried everything. Warned them, taught them when they were younger, but it’s like talking to a brick wall. They won’t listen, they think they’ve got it all figured out, and they’re dead set on staying on this dangerous path. I love them with all my heart, but in the face of their choices, all I can do is bear the pain.

Every time we try to talk, it turns into a pointless argument. It’s usually over trivial stuff. I get their perspective, and I can see where it’s headed. The problem is, they don’t. In their eyes, I’m just outdated. It’s a downside of technology – in the past, age was seen as wisdom, but now it’s often considered being out of touch. Life doesn’t quite work like technology, though. Slowly but surely, I’m starting to realize that it’s their life to live. I can dish out advice, even if they’re gonna brush it off. I’ll just have to endure the pain alongside them. I wish we could dodge it, but I guess that’s not in the cards.

I guess this is the tough part of truly caring about someone. On a bigger scale, I ponder if this challenging side of love is exactly what God experiences with me. I could’ve said “us,” but I want to be clear – I get that, from God’s perspective, my act might not be as together as I think. In its own way, it’s a bit of a train wreck. And you know what? It’s not just me; it applies to all of humanity. Just take a glance at the news. It’s just one of those messy aspects of life, you know?

Reflection

  • How do you navigate the emotional rollercoaster of witnessing a loved one’s life veering off course, and what strategies do you employ to cope with the heartache that comes with it?
  • In a world where relationships can sometimes feel like a train ride with unexpected twists, turns, and derailments, how do you balance being a supportive spectator versus actively intervening when someone close to you is headed for a metaphorical train wreck?
Nomen Lirien Avatar

Published by

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started